No Barley Grass does NOT contain gluten. Barley grass (hordeum vulgore) is made from the powdered leaves of young plants. Barley Grass is at its optimum nutrient value when the young leaves are between 12 cm to 16 cm and before the grain stalk has started to develop. This is the time that it is harvested, dried and powdered. Once the grain stalk has started to develop, the nutrient focus is on growning the stalk and developing the head for the barley grain to grow. This is were the gluten in produced, in the stalk and head of the barley. It is an excellent source of dark green vegetable (chlorophyll) nutrition, rich in dietary fibre (promoting good colon health and regularity, higher than bran), contains high amounts of minerals, vitamins and proteins, more than most other leafy vegetables. It contains magnesium, calcium beta carotene, more iron than spinach and many other amino acids and enzymes essential for healthy living.